zachbissett

And the Emmy goes to…Modern Family. All of them. (RANT)

In Uncategorized on 09/24/2012 at 12:35

I woke up and wrote this entry in my brain while I showered, wrote it down quick as possible. Will fix it up later, pictures and etc.

It’s a running gag at award shows, how they are Hollywood gathering to celebrate each other, and for some reason the rest of the country watches. There’s no better example of this than when you get an “award show darling.”

For example, when the Academy selects the most obscure film to win Best Picture and says “Nuts to all you who don’t know where your closest independent theater is!” Or better yet, when Meryl Streep is nominated for anything. It’s as if the same dusty group of gentlemen get together and say, “We still adore Meryl, yes?” Everyone else nods, and they hand over the loot without a struggle.

Last night at the Emmy’s, I watched award after award handed over to ABC’s “Modern Family.” Now don’t get me wrong, I enjoy “Modern” quite a bit. However, for the third year in a row the Emmys have called “Modern Family” the funniest show on television.

Is this the case? That’s impossible to say. Comedy is objective, as is entertainment in general, we all know that–but in a way, that supports the case that the Emmy board has a huge crush on MF. In the past three years, no new comedy has debuted that surpasses MF in laughs? No sophomore, junior or veteran series improved enough to overthrow MF? Nope. “Modern Family,” as the Emmy’s would have you believe, is simply the funniest show on television, bar none.

It’s not that it bothers me; as I said I like “Modern Family.” And it’s not like an Emmy matters in the grand scheme of things; “Seinfeld” won 1 or 2 Emmy’s, losing to “Frasier” a half dozen times, and I don’t think there’s any debate about which show left a more indelible mark on the sitcom.

What bothers me, like I said, is why we allow the Emmy’s to get away with this. Why Award shows give out trophies to celebrities who can’t bother to show up at the awards. It makes me feel like I’m wasting my time–which I undeniably am.

“Modern Family’s” annoying dominance over the telecast was summed up early on, as “Modern Family” numbered 4 of the 6 nominations for “Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy,” with Eric Stonestreet scoring his second Emmy win for the role of Cameron Tucker. Essentially, according to the Emmys, the actors on “Modern Family” are in a league of their own.

Bill Hader of SNL deserved his nod, but here’s a few guys who weren’t even considered.

Donald Glover (Troy Barnes) and Danny Pudi (Abed Nadir), Community
Tracy Morgan (Tracy Jordan), 30 Rock
Jeff Garlin (Jeff Green) and JB Smoove (Leon), Curb Your Enthusiasm
Nick Offerman (Ron Swanson) and Rob Lowe (Chris Traeger), Parks and Recreation

I could go on, but I won’t. Congrats “Modern Family,” and “The Daily Show” which scored its 10th consecutive Emmy win. So long as you are on the air, you will be winning Emmys.

Leave a Reply

