zachbissett

GEORGE ZIMMERMAN Makes First Court Appearance

In Uncategorized on 04/12/2012 at 18:52

If you were sleeping under a rock yesterday (I was) or if you don’t have your fingers on the nation’s pulse (I do, luckily), here’s some news: George Zimmerman was officially arrested in the shooting of 17 year old Trayvon Martin.

Now, I know nothing of the law, and considering most everyone knows the broad details of the case I won’t repeat them. However there are a few facts of the case that have bothered me from day one, and I’ll share them now.

For starters, and again I’m no lawyer, I don’t understand why this Stand your ground Law is such a big deal. I was under the impression that wherever you are in America, if someone is beating your ass and you fear for your life, you are within your legal rights to defend yourself. The Florida version of this law, apparently, allows you to shoot people no questions asked.

What I mean by that is the second issue I have with the case: why wasn’t Zimmerman arrested weeks ago!? This is not me saying Zimmerman is guilty and needs to hang, but come on! He shot and killed an unarmed 17 year old who was walking to his own house (for all intents and purposes) to catch the second half of the NB All Star game. How does saying “self defense” absolve all suspicion? The arrest of Zimmerman is more a response to the public outcry than Florida prosecutor’s initial intent, and trust me, that’s going to do more damage to Zimmerman than anything else.

Let me repeat, I’m not hating on Zimmerman, but the fact that the nation boiled over this for weeks before an arrest was made pretty much guarantees any jury is going to have a bone to pick with this Zimmerman character.

Another thing is Zimmerman supporters continuously cry about pictures of 12 year old Trayvon showing up on TV more than more recent pics. There are plenty of pics of 17 year old Martin and yes, he’s wearing his cap sideways, and so are his friends…so what? Does that somehow make him look less innocent?

So sorry, I know I haven’t shed any light on the situation, and haven’t articulated my points as well as I’d like, but I’ll try to do it again as this case unfolds over the coming months (Zimmerman will be arraigned on May 29).

Leave a Reply

